The OECD work on Inclusive Growth benefits from both internal and external partnerships, with multiple sources of knowledge and expertise coming together to ensure that the Inclusive Growth project is applicable in all policy areas, both in breadth and in depth.


Internal Collaborators


Inclusive Growth is a horizontal project within the Organisation, drawing together expertise from a range of in-house expertise on a variety of topics. Four core OECD Directorates contribute substantive inputs to the Inclusive Growth project: the Economics Department (ECO), the Statistics and Data Directorate (STD), the Directorate for Employment, Labour and Social Affairs (ELS) and the Directorate for Public Governance (GOV). Other directorates, including the Directorate for Education and Skills (EDU), the Directorate for Science, Technology and Innovation(STI), the Environment Directorate (ENV), the Centre for Entrepreneurship, SMEs, Regions and Cities (CFE), the Development Centre (DEV), the Centre for Tax Policy and Administration(CTP), the Directorate for Financial and Enterprise Affairs(DAF) and the Trade and Agriculture Directorate (TAD) have all had direct involvement in the Inclusive Growth project.

We are also consulting with the business and trade union communities, with input from the Business and Industry Advisory Committee to the OECD (BIAC) and the Trade Union Advisory Committee to the OECD (TUAC).


External Partners


External partners, including the Ford Foundation and the Open Society Foundations, support the common mission of our organisations to tackle inequalities, ensure equal opportunities, and remove the barriers to a fair distribution of the benefits of growth. By joining forces, we speak with a united, coherent voice on this important issue. Additionally, the OECD has collaborated with the UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UN-ECLAC), the UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (UN-ESCAP) and the Asian Development Bank (ADB) to co-host regional consultation events as well as economic forums, to share knowledge and work together to refine our regional approaches to Inclusive Growth. A broad range of other stakeholders from a variety of institutions, including NGOs, academia, the private sector, trade unions, and national and regional governments, has also participated in the collaborative and global conversation that the OECD continues to hold on Inclusive Growth.


Informal Inclusive Growth Advisory Group of international experts


Under guidance from the OECD Secretariat, the Group advises the strategic orientation of the Inclusive Growth Initiative to deliver a policy framework that promotes growth and inclusive economic development. The Group aims to:

  • Deliver high-level advice and informs the agenda for the OECD Inclusive Growth Initiative;
  • Provide input on the draft conceptual framework and other related reports;
  • Participate in relevant workshops and technical seminars on Inclusive Growth;
  • Identify priorities to reform policy, policy design, and decision-making processes;
  • Ensure to follow through on advice, when possible, by supporting and advocating the need to make a shift in economic models;
  • Foster exchanges on inclusive growth, when possible, between stakeholders, around OECD experience and good practices related to structural reform, making reform happen, etc.; and
  • Champion the OECD Inclusive Growth conceptual framework to networks.


The current Advisory Group members are:


Prof. Philippe Aghion - Robert C. Waggoner Professor of Economics, Harvard University

Sir Tony Atkinson - Honorary Fellow, Nuffield College, University of Oxford

Mr. Andrea Brandolini - Head of the Economic Structure and Labour Market Division, Department for Structural Economic Analysis, Bank of Italy

Prof. Angus Deaton - Dwight D. Eisenhower Professor of Economics and International Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs & Economics Department

Mr. Kemal Dervis - Vice President and Director, Global Economy and Development, The Brookings Institution

Prof. Richard A. Easterlin - University professor and professor of economics. University of Southern California

Prof. Marc Fleurbaey - Robert E. Kuenne Professor in Economics and Humanistic Studies, University Center for Human Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University

Prof. Alan Hirsch - Professor and Director, Graduate School of Development Policy and Practice, University of Cape Town

Prof. Lord Richard Laylard - Programme Director, Wellbeing, LSE Centre for Economic Performance

Prof. Nora Lustig - Samuel Z. Stone Professor of Latin American Economics, Tulane University

Mr. Xavier Briggs - Vice President, Economic Opportunity and Assets Program, Ford Foundation 

Mr. Enrique Rueda-Sabater – Visiting Fellow, Center for Global Development, Senior Advisor, Boston Consulting Group

Prof. Dr. Erik Schokkaert - Professor of Economics, KU Leuven University

Mrs. Teresa Ter-Minassian – Economist, Former Director of Fiscal Affairs, International Monetary Fund