The Forum on Tax Administration (FTA) was created in 2002 bringing together Commissioners and tax administration officials from 53 OECD and non-OECD countries, including all members of the G20. Our vision is to create a forum through which Commissioners can identify, discuss and influence relevant global trends as well as develop new ideas to enhance tax administration around the world. It does so by:

  • Providing a unique global forum where Commissioners and their teams can share experiences and expertise on tax administration issues
  • Harnessing the collective strength of tax administrations globally including through developing joint programmes of action on key tax administration issues
  • Developing and promoting world class products and standards for effective, efficient and fair tax administration
  • Engaging in dialogue with key stakeholders, including business and individual taxpayers, tax intermediaries, tax policy makers and financial regulators, and supporting parallel dialogues at a national level
  • Promoting enhanced co-operation between countries and working co-operatively with other international and regional tax organisations and international organisations


The Forum on Tax Administration has 53 members representing wide global participation:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Argentina
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • China (People's Republic of)
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong, China
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kenya
  • Korea
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malaysia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Peru
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russian Federation
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

How it works

The work of the Forum is overseen by a Bureau of 14 Commissioners. The FTA is chaired by Bob Hamilton, Commissioner, Canada Revenue Agency. FTA collaborative work is organised under three pillars, representing the challenges and opportunities created by a changing business environment, rapid technological change and an increasing global economy.

1. Tax Certainty and BEPS

2. Tax Co-operation

  • Effective use of information received under the Common Reporting Standard (CRS)
  • Common Transmission System (CTS): expansion and enhancements

3. Digital Transformation

  • Tax administration 2030
  • Small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs): improving compliance and reducing burdens
  • Sharing and Gig Economy: Effective Taxation of Platform Sellers


The work programme is delivered by a range of Collaborative Networks, knowledge sharing Communities of Interest and a number of time-limited projects and reports undertaken by smaller groups of tax administrations together with the FTA Secretariat. All of these work streams operate under the sponsorship of lead Commissioners. These are detailed below:


Collaborative Networks


Communities of Interest

  • Digital transformation
  • Shadow economy
  • Analytics
  • Behavioural insights
  • Enterprise Risk Management
  • Human Resources


The FTA work programme is also complemented by a number of supporting measures co-ordinated by the FTA Secretariat:

  • Tax Administration Series (TAS) which contains comparative information on tax administrations. The 2019 edition was published in September 2019.
  • Maturity Model Series: These models are intended to help tax administrations globally to assess their current performance and to consider future possible reforms, paving the way to more seamless and frictionless tax administration. The first two self-assessment maturity models on tax debt management and the reduction of compliance burdens where published in December 2019.
  • Capacity building including through e-learning and peer-to-peer assistance and support.