Workshop: The Amended Arab League Investment Agreement


7-8 April 2014 - Cairo, Egypt

With the view to stimulate intra-regional trade and investment flows, the Economic and Social Council of the League of Arab States (LAS) adopted in 2013 an amendment to the 1980 Arab League Investment Agreement. By reviving the 1980 Investment Agreement, this amendment could create a more predictable and favourable policy environment for investors at the regional level, and contribute to enhance the attractiveness of investing in the region and promote intra-regional investment.

To encourage its ratification – expected in 2014 – and to raise awareness on the reformed Investment Agreement, the MENA-OECD Investment Programme launched a co-operation with the LAS and organise two events:

  • The 7-8 April workshop “The amended Arab League Investment Agreement: key improvements and ratification process” involving drafters of the Amendment, policy makers, representatives of relevant institutions (e.g. the LAS Economic and Social Council, the Arab Court of Investment) as well as experts from the LAS Secretariat and the MENA-OECD Investment Programme with the view to enhance understanding on the usefulness of the revised agreement;

  • A follow up regional investment conference scheduled to take place in Fall 2014 to sensitise and disseminate information on the Amendment and its economic benefits and positive effects on investment among LAS member States, relevant regional and international stakeholders and private sector representatives.







‌‌‌Meeting Agenda

Brochure: Englishعربي



About the MENA-OECD Investment Programme

The key objective of the MENA-OECD Investment Programme is to mobilise investment — foreign, regional and domestic — as a driving force for economic growth and employment throughout the Middle East and North Africa region. The Investment Programme supports reform efforts of MENA governments to enhance the investment climate by:

  • Promoting investment and strengthening the employment potential of FDI
  • Catalysing SME and entrepreneurship development
  • Creating a level playing-field for business
  • Supporting women’s economic integration
The Programme is made up of 18 participating economies: Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestinian Authority, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen.


Related Documents