Development Assistance Committee (DAC)

The OECD Development Assistance Committee is a unique international forum of many of the largest providers of aid, including 32 members. 

The DAC mandate

The overarching objective of the Committee is to promote development co-operation and other relevant policies so as to contribute to implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, including inclusive and sustainable economic development, the advancement of equalities within and among countries, poverty eradication, improvement of living standards in developing countries, and to a future in which no country will depend on aid.

 Read the full mandate

What we do

We monitor


Search all things ODA: statistics, definitions, lists and more


We set development co-operation


Consult the DAC decisions, recommendations and guidelines


We conduct regular


of our members

See how we hold each other to account and read the full reports


How we work


The DAC  holds  High  Level  Meetings (generally every 2-3 years) whose participants are development ministers. In between High Level Meetings, the DAC convenes Senior Level Meetings (attended by heads of aid agencies) to review the Committee’s work on current policy issues. Ordinary DAC meetings are attended by Paris-based delegates of DAC members and by officials from member capitals.

Global relations

The DAC engages with development actors beyond the Committee’s membership to improve the relevance and impact of its work.

Members & partners


The DAC currently has 32 members. Candidate countries are assessed in terms of the following criteria: the existence of appropriate strategies, policies and institutional frameworks that ensure capacity to deliver a development co-operation programme; an accepted measure of effort; and the existence of a system of performance monitoring and evaluation.