Supporting MENA economies in their reform efforts

The MENA-OECD Initiative works with economies from the MENA region in support national reform agendas.

Under the Initiative, MENA economies have intensified their participation in OECD bodies and their adherence to legal instruments. They have integrated a number of statistical reporting and information systems, benchmarking exercises, and they have continued to participate in OECD Global Foruums, publications and policy reviews.

The OECD’s activities with the MENA region involve 19 economies: Algeria, Bahrain, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestinian Authority, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, SyriaTunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

Additionally, the OECD provides country-specific support to Morocco, through the Morocco Country Programme, and Egypt, through the Egypt Country Programme


Country Programmes: EgyptMorocco

Base erosion and profit shifting (BEPS) participants: Djibouti, Egypt, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Tunisia

Development Assistance Committee participants: Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, UAE

Governing Board of the Development Centre members: Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia

Investment Committee associates: Egypt, Jordan, Morocco, Tunisia


Other forms of engagement:

OECD work with MENA economies

MENA-OECD Competitiveness Programme

The Competitiveness Programme works closely with MENA countries supporting projects on women's economic empowerment, investment & trade, SMEs & entrepreneurship, corporate governance, business integrity, economic resilience in fragile situations, private sector mobilisation & social dialogue.

Visit the Programme website to find thematic publications covering Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority and Tunisia.

MENA-OECD Governance Programme

The Governance Programme supports projects on gender equality, youth engagement & empowerment, open & innovative governance, machinery of goverance, local governance, public sector integrity and rule of law.

Visit the Programme website to find thematic publications covering Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Morocco, the Palestinian Authority, Qatar, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

Arab-DAC Dialogue on Development

The Development Assistance Committee (DAC) works with several MENA countries to forge new and mutually beneficial relationships in international development co-operation. 

Kuwait, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates

Read about the Dialogue



G7 Deauville Partnership

Through the MENA Transition Fund of the G7 Deauville Partnership, the OECD has implemented 20 projects accompanying Arab Countries in Transition to achieve their reform efforts.

Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia, Yemen

Read about the Partnership

G20 Compact with Africa (CWA)

The OECD supports the G20 Compact with Africa which includes Egypt, Morocco and Tunisia, to improve the framework conditions for private investment.

Read the CWA's policy matrix


The EU-OECD Support for Improvement in Governance and Management (SIGMA) provides country assistance in areas such as financial control, organisation of State administration, policy making and co-ordination, public procurement, civil service and human resources development, and administrative law. 

Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia

Read about SIGMA