Share

Statistics

Metrics for Policies for Well-being and Sustainable Development in Latin America and the Caribbean

 

Metrics for Policies for Well-being and Sustainable Development in Latin America and the CaribbeanThe European Commission, OECD and its Development Centre and UN ECLAC are joining forces with countries in Latin America and the Caribbean to identify the most policy-relevant metrics for achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), improving well-being, and leaving no-one behind.

This initiative provides a platform, over 3 years (2018-2021), for political and technical dialogue with statisticians, planning ministries, development cooperation agencies and other policy actors from across the region and the world, aiming to identify top-level indicators and best practice for informing national policy and international cooperation strategies. Key outputs will include conferences on the policy uses of high-level metrics for development and well-being, expert meetings to identify and address data gaps, and a final publication presenting headline indicators, case studies on their policy use, and general results, with the ultimate aim to have more impactful policies and more effective development cooperation strategies centred around people’s well-being. This initiative is being undertaken in the context of the EU Regional Facility for Development in Transition in Latin America and the Caribbean.   

 

 

 

Key document

Project note (Español)

 

forthcoming EventS  

Webinar series: Measuring people's perceptions, evaluations and experiences

The value of measuring people's perceptions and experiences has never been more relevant in a region that has been hit, not only by the Covid-19 crisis, but also by the waves of social protests that started in Chile in late 2019. These crises have highlighted the disconnection between policy makers and citizens, and underlined the need to better understand and measure people’s feelings and experiences. This webinar series, open to statisticians, policy makers, researchers and members of civil society, will look at a selection of key issues and examples related to the measurement of people’s self-reported perceptions, evaluations and feelings, with particular emphasis given to their applicability and relevance in Latin America. It is organised by the European Commission, the OECD and its Development Centre and UN ECLAC, along with countries in Latin America and the Caribbean.  

  • Webinar 1: Measuring people’s perceptions, evaluations and experiences: Why they matter and what can we learn from them?
    22 September 2020 (10:00 Mexico City / 12:00 Santiago / 17:00 Paris)

  • Webinar 2: Measuring discrimination: Methodological issues and the statistical agenda ahead
    25 September 2020 (09:00 Mexico City / 11:00 Santiago / 16:00 Paris)
    Register for this webinar

 (Español)

 

PREVIOUS EVENTs 

International Conference on the Policy Uses of Well-being and Sustainable Development Indicators in Latin America and the Caribbean, 23-24 October 2019, Universidad del Rosario, Bogotá, Colombia

The OECD, in partnership with ECLAC, DANE (National Statistics Office of Colombia), DNP (National Planning Ministry of Colombia) and the Universidad del Rosario held the International Conference on the Policy Uses of Well-being and Sustainable Development Indicators in Latin America and the Caribbean. The conference helped to exchange knowledge and experience on the design and use of multidimensional indicator sets in policy-making processes for improving people’s well-being and achieving sustainable development. 

 

Programme and presentations (Español)


Speakers biographies

 

Read key messages

Summary and key messages (Español)

 

Watch the Conference

 

DAY 1

DAY 2

  

Contact

 wellbeing@oecd.org

PARTNER ORGANISATIONS

 LAC project, Partner Organisations

 

 

Related Documents