About us



The OECD brings together 34 governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world. The OECD also shares expertise and exchanges views with more than 100 other countries. In May 2007, OECD countries agreed to invite Chile, Estonia, Israel, Russia and Slovenia to open discussions for membership of the Organisation and offered enhanced engagement, with a view to possible membership, to Brazil, China, India, Indonesia and South Africa. Participation at the OECD by the business community and trade-unions are co-ordinated through Business and Industry Advisory Committee (BIAC) and Trade Union Advisory Committee (TUAC). In 2009, co-ordination groups were established with representatives of civil society and the Internet technical community to facilitate participation in the ICCP Committee, namely the Civil Society Information Society Advisory Council (CSISAC) and Internet Technical Advisory Committee (ITAC).



Related Documents