Plenary sessions

The IFMS included five high-level plenary sessions on topics such as improving the production of migration data, global initiatives on migration, public opinion and migration, data innovation and big data, and capacity building. These plenary sessions involved more than 30 high-level speakers from governments, international agencies, and private companies in 17 countries. Both OECD and non-OECD countries were represented.

Programme of plenary sessions

Plenary session speakers

Louise Arbour Special Representative for International Migration, United Nations, United States
Grace Bediako Former Head of the Ghana Statistical Service, National Development Planning Commission (NDPC), Ghana
Eva Åkerman Börje Senior Policy Advisor to the Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for International Migration
Oliver Chinganya Director, African Centre for Statistics at the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa, Ethiopia
Jon Clifton Managing Partner, Gallup, United States
Carol Coy Director General, STATIN, Jamaica
Martina del Corral Téllez Secretaria General de Inmigración y Emigración, Ministerio de Empleo y Seguridad Social, Spain
Tim Dixon Founder, More In Common, United Kingdom
Martine Durand Chief Statistician and Director of Statistics Directorate, OECD, France
Jørgen Elmeskov Director General, Statistics Denmark, Denmark
Leonello Gabrici Head of Division for Migration and Human Security, European External Action Service, European Commission
Angel Gurría Secretary-General, OECD, France
Petra Kaminsky Head of dpa-Story, Deutsche Presse-Agentur (DPA), Germany
Robert Kirkpatrick Director, UN Global Pulse, United States
Mari Kiviniemi Deputy Secretary-General, OECD
Mariana Kotzeva Acting Director-General, Eurostat, Luxembourg
Emmanuel Letouzé Director, Data-Pop Alliance, United States
Zhenmin Liu Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs, United Nations, United States

Claire Melamed

Executive Director, Global Partnership for Sustainable Development Data, United States
Cock Overbeek Vice President Space, CGI Group Inc., Netherlands
Josie B. Perez Deputy National Statistician, Philippine Statistics Authority, Philippines
Gabriela Ramos Chief of Staff and Sherpa to the G20, OECD
Markus Reisle Head, Global Programme on Migration and Development, Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation SDC, Switzerland
Emma Rourke Director, Public Policy Analysis, Office for National Statistics, United Kingdom
Dominik Rozkrut President, Statistics Poland, Poland
Stefano Scarpetta Director of Employment, Labour and Social Affairs, OECD, France
Goetz Schmidt-Bremme Ambassador, 2017-2018 Global Forum on Migration and Development Co-Chairmanship, Germany
Stefan Schweinfest Director, United Nations Statistics Division/Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNSD/DESA)
Ineke Stoop Deputy Director - Methodological, European Social Survey, Netherlands
William Lacy Swing Director General, International Organization for Migration, United States
Laura Thompson Deputy Director General, International Organization for Migration
Volker Türk Assistant High Commissioner for Protection, UNHCR, Switzerland
Edgar Vielma Director General of Sociodemographic Statistics, Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Geografía (INEGI), Mexico
António Vitorino Former European Commissionner for Justice and Internal Affairs, European Commission, Portugal
John Wilmoth Director of Population Division, United Nations, United States
Emilio Zagheni Associate Professor of Sociology, University of Washington, United States