For over 20 years, the OECD has been working closely with countries in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC) to facilitate policy dialogue and the dissemination of good practices in areas such as investment, education, inclusiveness, competition, good governance, anti-corruption and fiscal policy. 

The OECD has never been closer to the LAC region than it is today: Chile and Mexico are OECD member countries, Colombia  has been invited to be a member of the Organisation and Costa Rica is in the process of accession. The Organisation also has a co-operation programme with our Key Partner Brazil, a Country Co-operation Programme with Peru, and Argentina is stepping up its engagement via a tailored Action Plan. All of these countries, as well as the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, GuatemalaPanamaParaguay, and Uruguay, are members of the OECD Development Centre.

In January 2016, OECD members decided to strengthen co-operation with the region through the creation of an OECD LAC Regional Programme, launched at the OECD Ministerial Council Meeting (MCM) in Paris. The Programme aims to support the region in advancing its reform agenda along three key regional priorities: increasing productivity, enhancing social inclusion, and strengthening institutions and governance. On the margins of the 2019 MCM, the Programme was renewed for a second three-year cycle (2019-2022), transferring its co-chairmanship to Brazil and Mexico for this period. 

>> (versión en español)

Focus on

Latest and forthcoming events


OECD - Latin America and the Caribbean Newsletter now available here - to subscribe to the Newsletter please click here


Stat of the month

>> Learn more about Product Market Regulation indicators here

>> Explore OECD data on the LAC region

This report builds on the recent Lima Commitment, which was dedicated to “Democratic Governance against Corruption” and signed by 34 countries at the Summit of the Americas held in Lima in 2018. It provides strategic guidance to policy makers to bring political commitments into concrete actions that deliver results at the height of the expectations of their citizens.

The brochure gives an overview of the OECD’s collaboration with and work on the region across all of the OECD’s policy areas.

This study is the successful culmination of a series of discussions and debates on new regional integration models in Latin America. It aims to support the Pacific Alliance in this learning process with concrete experiences that three countries (Sweden, Germany and Denmark) offer in four relevant policy domains: Digitalisation; SMEs and Entrepreneurship; Vocational Education and Training; and, Gender Equality.

The Latin American Economic Outlook 2019 (LEO) was launched on 20 March in Buenos Aires, Argentina, during the second High Level United Nations Conference on South South Co-operation (BAPA +40).

The OECD, ECLAC, CAF and the EU call upon LAC governments to take a leading role in promoting a renewed and inclusive multilateralism that helps achieve the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

The Policy Index for SMEs on Latin America and the Caribbean assesses the strengths and weaknesses that exist in the different areas of design, implementation, and monitoring and evaluation of policies for micro, small and medium enterprises.