Industry and entrepreneurship

Media advisory – OECD Steel Committee Chair statement – 6 March 2018


06/03/2018 - The following statement was issued today by Lieven Top, Chairman of the OECD Steel Committee, following a meeting of the Committee in Paris on March 5-6, 2018.

Read the full statement

The OECD Steel Committee has the following members: Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, the Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, the Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the United States, as well as the European Union. Seven non-OECD members take part in Committee meetings as “Participants” (Argentina, Bulgaria, Egypt, India, Malaysia, South Africa and Chinese Taipei), bringing their perspectives to the Committee’s work.

OECD Steel Committee members and its Participants account for around 45% of global production and 75% of global exports of steel.

Australia, Chile, China, Colombia, Kazakhstan and the Philippines are sometimes also invited to attend OECD Steel Committee meetings.

Working with over 100 countries, the OECD is a global policy forum that promotes policies to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.


Related Documents