On 19-21 September 2018 the International Association for Official Statistics (IAOS) and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) will jointly organise the 16th edition of the IAOS Conference, Better Statistics for Better Lives that will take place at the OECD Headquarters in Paris, France.

With the aim of promoting official statistics, the theme of this conference Better Statistics for Better Lives will serve as an umbrella to discuss the most pressing problems regarding the production, dissemination, and use of official statistics. This conference will be an important driver of the agenda towards better understanding official statistics, increasing their usefulness, addressing challenges, and finding potential options to improve statistics in a particular subject or field.

Latest updates



For further information, please contact IAOS2018@oecd.org 



Young Scholars for Better Statistics Award


IAOS and the OECD invite you to participate in their “Young Scholars for Better Statistics” award for the best paper using official statistics. 

Recognising academic work from students and their academic advisors, this award seeks to encourage young statisticians to take an active interest in official statistics. The winning papers must contribute to better understanding official statistics, as well as their usefulness and challenges, proposing potential options to improve their production in a particular subject or field of analysis. 

In addition to monetary prizes, the first-place winner and their academic advisor will receive travel funds to present their paper at the 2018 IAOS-OECD Conference in Paris, France on 19-21 September 2018.

Interested in participating?

Download (in PDF):

Please submit papers and completed template to

  • before 11:59pm on 16 April 2018 

For further information, please contact IAOS2018@oecd.org