Budgeting and public expenditures

OECD Advisory Panel on Budgeting and Public Expenditures


The OECD established an Advisory Panel on Budgeting and Public Expenditures in 2012. Its role is to offer insights on the directions of the OECD work in this crucial area. The Panel is composed of recent former chairs of the Working Party of Senior Budget Officials (SBO) and distinguished academics and experts associated with the SBO.


The members of the Panel(*):


Mr. Ian WATT

Secretary, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Australia

Former Secretary, Department of Finance and Deregulation, Australia

Former SBO Chair (2006-2009)


Mr. Richard J. EMERY

Former Assistant Director, White House Office of Management and Budget, United States

Former SBO Chair (2003-2005)



Secretary-General, Ministry of Health, Welfare and Sport, Netherlands

Former Secretary-General, Ministry of Finance, Netherlands

Former SBO Chair (2000-2002)



Deputy Director, National Governors Association, United States

Former Assistant Director, White House Office of Management and Budget, United States

Former Acting Director and Deputy Director, Congressional Budget Office, United States

Former SBO Chair (1995-1997)



Associate Professor, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, United States


Mr. Andreas BERGMANN

Professor of Public Finance and Director - Public Sector, School of Management and Law,

Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Switzerland

Chair, International Public Sector Accounting Standards Board (IPSASB)


Mr. Philippe BURGER

Professor of Economics and Head of Economics Department, University of the Free State, South Africa


Mr. John BURNS

Chair Professor of Politics and Public Administration and Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences,

The University of Hong Kong


Mr. John KIM

Senior Fellow, Korea Institute of Public Finance


Mr. LU Mai

Secretary-General, China Development Research Foundation



Professor and Director of the Public Administration Program, George Mason University, United States


Mr. Ricardo REIS

Assistant Professor of Accounting, Católica-Lisbon School of Business and Economics, Portugal



Partner, PFM Results Consulting, Switzerland


Mr. Allen SCHICK

Distinguished University Professor, School of Public Policy, University of Maryland, United States


Mr. Hideaki TANAKA

Professor, Graduate School of Governance Studies, Meiji University, Japan


Mr. Joachim WEHNER

Senior Lecturer in Public Policy, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), United Kingdom


Ms. Christine WONG

Professor of Chinese Public Finance, Fellow and Chair, Chinese Studies, School of Interdisciplinary Area Studies,

University of Oxford, United Kingdom



(*) Former SBO chairs are listed first in reverse chronological order. Other members are then listed in alphabetical order.


Related Documents