Ministerial Conference on Enterprise and Competitiveness Policies for Eastern Europe and the South Caucasus


Prague, Czech Republic - 15-17 June 2011


This Ministerial Conference, hosted by Deputy Prime Minister Karel Schwarzenberg of the Czech Republic, brought together Ministers of Economy from Eastern Europe and the South Caucasus (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Republic of Moldova and Ukraine), as well as policy makers and high-level representatives from OECD countries to discuss challenges to investment, competitiveness and SME development in their respective countries. The Ministerial Roundtable was co-chaired by Poland and Sweden.


On this occasion, OECD and Ministers of the EESC region launched the new  which was the second Outlook prepared under the aegis of the wider OECD Eurasia Competitiveness Programme which includes 6 countries from Eastern Europe and the South Caucasus (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine) and 7 countries from Central Asia (Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan).


Ministers of the Eastern Europe and South Caucasus region acknowledged the report’s key findings in a Ministerial declaration on “Fostering SMEs, entrepreneurship and competitiveness” adopted at the Roundtable discussion on 17 June. The declaration also reaffirmed the region’s political commitment to work together with the OECD on developing targeted policies to support SMEs and entrepreneurship.



  • Draft Agenda


Related Documents