Inside the Château de la Muette


© Château de la Muette: couloirTHE MAIN HALL

‌The Main Hall features classic 18th century inspired decorative elements such as sunflowers and Louis XV-style woodwork and mouldings.

Originally, the Baron decorated the hall with the finest 18th century furniture and appointments.

The three massive lantern-chandeliers were custom designed for the Organisation for European Economic Co-operation (OEEC) in 1950 by renowned, French designer Gilbert Poillerat (1902-1988).

Henri de Rothschild’s Library and Chardin Gallery

The rooms housing Baron Henri de Rothschild’s Library and Chardin Gallery are known today as Rooms D and E.

The Baron owned one of the most important collections of rare books, manuscripts, and paintings in the world. The entire collection was on display in the vast salons of la Muette. In 1947, the year of Rothschild’s death, the Baron’s heirs gave the collection to the French National Library (Bibliothèque nationale de France) along with the panelling and bookcases from Room D. The panelling in that room was never replaced.

Room E, is where the Baron displayed his collection of paintings by Chardin (1699-1779). The marble fireplace and the solid oak mirror are rare 18th century masterpieces.

‌The Grand Salon

© OECD - Château de la Muette's Room C with old ceilingThe Grand Salon is now the official meeting room for the OECD’s Council of Permanent Representatives or the Organisation’s governing body.

From 1931-1932, Baron Henri de Rothschild remodeled this room to include the current panelling and three rare Beauvais tapestries inherited from his parents. The famous decorating house Jansen managed the project. The solid oak panels were designed by Robert de Cotte in the early 1700’s for the Royal Library of King Louis XV, which later became the French National Library. The Council Room is surrounded by 18 carved panels including six full transoms representing the sciences, arts and crafts.

The three 18th century Gobelins tapestries currently in the Council Room are on loan from the French national heritage bureau (Mobilier national de France or MnF). They are known as the Portières des Dieux, and represent the seasons and the elements. They were woven with gold thread and their design was based on drawings by Claude Audran III. The three tapestries in this room represent: Saturn (Winter) - Diana (Earth) - Jupiter (Fire).

‌George C. Marshall Room

© OECD - Georges C. Marshall RoomThis grand room, named after the founder of the Marshall Plan, was once a ballroom and a formal dining room.

It features columns and consoles made of black and yellow marble.

The sliding pocket-shutters are 18th century and still feature their original oxblood finish.

The Louis XV-style crystal chandelier belonged to the Baron’s father.

‌Roger Ockrent Room

© OECD - Ockrent RoomThe Roger Ockrent Room is named after a former Belgian Ambassador to the OECD.

The 17th and 18th century gilt and lacquered panelling in this room most likely decorated Henri de Rothschild’s grandparents’ home.

The crystal chandelier was originally in the Baron’s father’s home.

The white marble chimney dates to the 18th century.


‌‌The Tapestry Room

© A. Gentry - Château de la Muette's tapestry roomThe Baron’s Tapestry Room is known today as Room G.

The solid oak panelling and overall decoration feature elements dating to the 18th century such as the four doors and a rare marble fireplace mantel.

This room was designed to house a part of Baron Henri de Rothschild’s collection of 18th century furnishings; notably a rare Louis XIV-era ensemble.

In the cornice moulding, a Sun King sculpture stands as a reminder of the château’s Louis XIV-style.

The Baroness’ Bed Chamber

In 1924, the Baroness Henri (Mathilde) de Rothschild decorated her bed chambers with an exceptional ensemble of furniture made by the illustrious Art-Deco cabinetmaker Émile-Jacques Ruhlmann (1879-1933). The prestigious ensemble included a Lassalle commode in Macassar (ebony) and ivory veneer as well as a Ruhlmann lady’s writing desk.