Environment Directorate

Who's Who


OECD member countries | Non-members, social partners and observers | OECD Secretariat



 Korea, Dr. YOO, Young Sook, Minister of Environment



 Czech RepublicMr. Tomáš Chalupa, Minister of the Environment

  Israel, Mr. Gilad Erdan, Minister of Environmental Protection

 European Union, Mr. Janez Potočnik, Commissioner for Environment

 Sweden, Ms. Lena Ek, Minister for the Environment

 United Kingdom, Ms. Caroline Spelman, Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs


OECD member countries

  Australia, The Hon. Tony Burke, Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities

  Austria, Mr. Nikolaus Berlakovich, Federal Minister of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management

  Belgium,  Mr. Yves Haesendonck, Ambassador, Permanent Representative to the OECD

  Canada, Mr. Dan McDougall, Assistant Deputy Minister


   Chile, Ms. Maria Ignacia Benitez, Minister of Environment

  Czech Republic (Vice-Chair), Mr. Tomáš Chalupa, Minister of the Environment

  Denmark, Ms. Ida Auken, Minister for the Environment


   Estonia, Ms. Keit Pentus, Minister of the Environment



  France, Ms. Dominique Dron, General Commissioner for Sustainable Development

  Germany,   Ms. Ursula Heinen-Esser, Parliamentary State Secretary, Vice Minister 

  Greece,  Mr. George Papaconstantinou, Minister of Environment, Energy and Climate Change

  Hungary,   Mr. Zoltán Cséfalvay, Minister of State for Economic Strategy and Mr. Zoltán Illés, Minister of State


  Iceland, Ms Svandís Svavarsdóttir, Minister of the Environment


  Ireland, Mr. John McCarthy, Assistant Secretary, Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government

   Israel (Vice-Chair), Mr. Gilad Erdan, Minister of Environmental Protection

  Italy, Mr. Corrado Clini, Minister of Environment, Land and Sea

  Japan, Mr. Tatsushi Terada, Vice-minister for Global Environmental Affairs

  Korea (Chair), Dr. YOO, Young Sook, Minister of Environment

  Luxembourg, Permanent Representative of Luxembourg to the OECD

  Mexico, Mr. Juan Rafael Elvira Quesada, Minister for Environment and Natural Resources

  Netherlands,  Mr. Siebe Riedstra, Secretary-general, Ministry of Infrastucture and the Environment

  New Zealand, The Hon. Tim Groser, Minister for Trade and International Climate Change Negotiations


  Norway, Mr. Audun Garberg, Political Advisor, Ministry of Environment

  Poland, Ms Beata Jaczewska, Undersecretary of State


  Slovak Republic, Ms Ingrid Brockova, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the OECD


   Slovenia, Mr. Franc Bogovič, Minister of Agriculture and the Environment

  Spain, Mr. Federico Ramos de Armas, Secretary of State for Environment


  Sweden (Vice-Chair), Ms. Lena Ek, Minister for the Environment

  Switzerland, Mr. Bruno Oberle, State Secretary, Director of the Federal Office of Environment

  Turkey, Prof. Lütfi Akca, the Undersecretary of Ministry of Forestry and Water Affairs

  United Kingdom (Vice-Chair), Ms. Caroline Spelman, Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

  United States, Ms. Lisa Jackson, Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency  

  European Union (Vice-Chair), Mr. Janez Potočnik, European Commissioner responsible for the Environment


Non-members, social partners and observers


  Brazil: Dr. Francesco Gaetani, Deputy Minister of the Environment


  China (People's Republic of): Mr. XU, Qinghua, Chief Engineer and Director General for International Cooperation Department, MEP


Colombia: Ms. Adriana Soto, Vice-Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development


  Indonesia: Mr. Dana Kartakusuma, Assistant Minister for Economic and Sustainable Affairs, Ministry for Environment


  Russian Federation: Mr. Yuri Trutnev, Minister of Natural Resources and Environment


Social partners

  • Business and Industry Advisory Committee to the OECD (BIAC): Mr. Russel Mills, Vice Chair, Environment Committee
  • Trade Union Advisory Committee to the OECD (TUAC): Mrs Marie-Louise Knuppert, Vice President
  • European Environmental Bureau (EEB): Mr. Jeremy Wates, Secretary-General


  • Global Green Growth Institute (GGGI): Mr. Boonam Shin, Ambassador for Green Growth
  • UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UNDESA): Mr. Nikhil Seth, Director
  • UN Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE): Mr. Marco Keiner, Director, Environment Division
  • UN Environment Programme (UNEP): Sylvie Lemmet, Director of the Division of Technology, Industry and Economics
  • World Bank: Ms. Rachel Kyte, Vice President for Sustainable Development
  • World Health Organization (WHO): Dr. Carlos Dora
  • World Trade Organization (WTO): Mrs Vesile Kulacoglu, Director, Trade and Environment Division


Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

  • Mr. Angel Gurría, Secretary-General
  • Mr. Simon Upton, OECD Environment Director


Related Documents