Higher education and research in the Free State Province


Higher education institutions and Research in the Free State Province


Two residential universities, the Central University of Technology and the Free State University, are located in the province and have a total of approximately 37 000 students at both institutions.


No other multi-disciplinary research institutions are present in the province. However, PAREXEL and Quintiles are two prominent research companies in the field of biostatistics and pharmaceutical research. Originally, Sasol’s main plant and headquarters were also located in the northern Free State but their head office has subsequently moved to Gauteng.  The company is listed on the stock exchange in London.


The main campuses of the two universities are located in the provincial capital, Bloemfontein. The current relationship between universities and the region is not well developed and can, at best, be described as ad hoc. A number of initiatives are, however, in process which includes the establishment of an innovation hub in which the Central University of Technology plays a leading role.




Free State start page | The Free State in brief
Further reading and useful links | HE and regions start page            


Related Documents