Inclusive societies and development

Youth Inclusion Project - Thi Diem Hang Tran


Thi Diem Hang Tran“My dream is to be running my own import/export company in my hometown within five years from now”


Thi Diem Hang Tran, 19, from Can Tho, Viet Nam

I was born in the city of Bonr, in Dong Thap Province, but I have been living in Can Tho city for two years now with my older brother. My parents still live in Dong Thap where they are rice farmers and cultivate Longan fruits. I don't think getting married before 20 is a good thing. As for me, I would prefer to get married around 25-27. Many girls still get married or become pregnant very young here in Viet Nam. Although quality and access to health services is generally good, sexual and reproductive health education is definitely needed in schools, especially in high school. For my part, I have never heard of such programmes in my university.

I'm a second year student majoring in international business and I still have two years and a half left at university. So far, I am very happy with my choice of studies. I decided to study business when I was in high school because I already felt that it would match well with my personality and my spirit of initiative. After graduating, I would like to get a job as an employee in a trading and import/export company. I hope to earn around 6-7 million VND (USD 265-305), which is well above the average wage here in Viet Nam. But finding a paid job after university will be challenging due to my lack of professional experience. That's why I try to gain as much work experience while being in school.

I am currently working part-time in a fast food restaurant where I am learning a lot about calculating but also dealing with customers. This part-time job allows me to make some money for myself. I don't want to be dependent on my family or be a burden for them, and I have always overcome difficult situations on my own. One day, I could have my own business running my parents’fruit farm but I guess I would need more experience for this too. My dream is to be running my own import/export company in my hometown within five years from now.


Learn more about the work of the Youth Inclusion Project in Viet Nam

Back to Homepage - Youth Inclusion Project 


Related Documents


Also AvailableEgalement disponible(s)