Anti-bribery convention

South Africa to join the OECD’s Anti-Bribery Convention


12/06/2007 - South Africa is to become the 37th signatory and first African country to join the OECD’s Anti-Bribery Convention. Adopted in 1997 and ratified so far by 36 countries, this Convention outlaws the bribery of foreign public officials in international business transactions.

Through country monitoring and extensive peer follow-up, the OECD Convention is designed to ensure that the fight against bribery is effective, thus creating a level playing field for fair competition between companies.

South Africa, by signing the OECD Anti-Bribery Convention, will help to strengthen the OECD convention and will thus contribute to the international fight against corruption.

On Tuesday 19 June 2007, the signing ceremony at OECD headquarters will be followed by a news conference at 5.30 p.m.

For further information, please visit the OECD website ( or contact the OECD Media Division (Tel: +33 1 45 24 97 00).


Related Documents