Centre for Tax Policy and Administration

Argentina becomes the first South American country to become a Party to the Multilateral Convention


13/09/2012 – Today Argentina has deposited its instrument of ratification moving Argentina one step closer to benefiting from cross border tax co-operation and information sharing and demonstrates Argentina’s commitment to tax transparency and exchange of tax information. 


The Multilateral Convention on Mutual Administrative Assistance in Tax Matters, which is open to all countries, provides governments with a valuable tool for strengthening international tax co-operation in the fight against offshore tax evasion and avoidance. It provides a multilateral basis for a wide variety of administrative assistance, including information exchange on request, automatic exchange of information and simultaneous tax examinations. 


Argentina is the first South American country to become a Party to the Multilateral Convention which will enter into force for Argentina 1 January 2013.


Signatories to the amended Multilateral Convention are:  Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, Finland, France, Ghana, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Moldova, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Russian Federation, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the United States.


Many more countries are expected to sign the Convention at a signing ceremony to be held in Cape Town, South Africa on 26 October on the occasion of the Global Forum on Transparency and Exchange of Information.

MAC Argentina signature September 2012


Related Documents