About the Global Forum on Competition


The OECD Global Forum on Competition (GFC) brings together high-level competition officials from around the world on a regular basis. Close to 90 competition authorities currently participate in the Forum.

The GFC provides an opportunity for policy dialogue between OECD countries and non-OECD economies. The discussion benefits from the input of the Competition Committee whose work has already generated substantial results in many countries, such as the voluntary adoption of  ‘best practices’, substantial analytical convergence, the establishment of strong networks of enforcement authorities, and enhanced co-operation in international merger reviews, cartel investigations and other cases.

The GFC provides a venue in which these important issues can be debated with competition authorities and other representatives of the developing world. At the same time, given its broad focus on development, the GFC promotes a wider dialogue that encompasses the linkages between competition policy and other cornerstones of economic development.


Who participates in the Global Forum?


Forum participation is by invitation only and restricted to government representatives or selected invitees. Invitation letters to competition authorities, government agencies and international organisations are currently being sent. If your agency has not yet received it, please contact  

Like other OECD activities, the Forum is inter-governmental, but regional organisations like COMESA or WAEMU and other international organisations such as the World Bank, UNCTAD, and the WTO also participate. Through the Business and Advisory Committee to the OECD (BIAC), the Trade Union Advisory Committee (TUAC) and Consumers International, representatives of the business community and consumers also have an input and are invited to selected discussions. 


Competition Authorities regularly participating in the Global Forum


Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belgium, Benin, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea, Lao PDR, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Chinese Taipei, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia as well as the Commission of the European Union.


Related Documents