OECD Secretary-General

Official visit of the Secretary-General to Australia (Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney, 3-8 August 2008)


During his official visit to Australia, the Secretary-General of the OECD, Angel Gurría attended the APEC Ministerial Meeting on Structural Reform and met with government officials and business representatives to discuss a range of key policy issues:

  • Mr. Kevin Rudd, Prime Minister
  • Mr. Stephen Smith, Minister for Foreign Affairs

  • Mr. Tony Burke, Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  • Senator Kim Carr, Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research
  • Mr. Simon Crean, Minister for Trade
  • Mr. Brendan O’Connor, Minister for Employment

  • Mr. Wayne Swan, Member of Parliament, Treasurer

  • Mr. Lindsay Tanner, Minister for Finance and Deregulation

  • Mr. Peter Costello, MP

  • Mr. Morris Iemma, MP, Premier of New South Wales

  • Mr. John Lenders, Member of the Legislative Council (MLC), Treasurer of Victoria

  • Ms. Sharon Burrow, President, Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) and members of ACTU

  • Ms. Melinda Cilento, Deputy Chief Executive, Business Council of Australia (BCA) and members of the BCA

  • Ms. Jane Halton, Secretary, Department of Health and Ageing

  • Mr. Michael L’Estrange, Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

  • Mr. Paul Tighe, First Assistant Secretary, Trade Development Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT)

  • Mr. Gary Banks, Productivity Commissioner

  • Mr. Peter Anderson, CEO, Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

  • Prof. Marie Bashir, Governor of New South Wales and Chancellor of the University of Sydney

  • Prof. Allan Fels, Dean of the Australian and New Zealand School of Government

  • Prof. Fred Hilmer, Vice-Chancellor of the University of New South Wales

  • Members of the Lowy Institute


In addition to his bilateral meetings, Angel Gurría gave a keynote speech on "The Political Economy of Reform: Implementing Policies for Change" (Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation - APEC).

Useful links:


Related Documents