Trade facilitation

Trade facilitation indicators


Introduction to the indicators

To help governments improve their border procedures, reduce trade costs, boost trade flows and reap greater benefits from international trade, OECD has developed a set of trade facilitation indicators that identify areas for action and enable the potential impact of reforms to be assessed.


Updates and information

New data

The updated 2017 Trade Facilitation Indicators are now available. You can access the data using the Compare Your Country tool or go in-depth using our trade facilitation policy simulator.

Latest reports

Other analysis

Data, methodology, sources and findings

Use of the Trade Facilitation Indicators


Country analysis

Country notes can be accessed through the Compare your Country tool and regional analysis can be found below. We invite you to also read the latest analysis of the 2015 Trade Facilitation Indicators and access our brand new trade facilitation policy simulator.



Regional analysis



About the OECD trade facilitation indicators

The OECD trade facilitation indicators cover the full spectrum of border procedures, from advance rulings to transit guarantees, for 163 countries across income levels, geographical regions and development stages.

Estimates based on the indicators provide a basis for governments to prioritise trade facilitation actions and mobilise technical assistance and capacity-building efforts for developing countries in a more targeted way.

Advance Rulings

Prior statements by the administration to requesting traders concerning the classification, origin, valuation method, etc., applied to specific goods at the time of importation; the rules and process applied to such statements.

Appeal Procedures

The possibility and modalities to appeal administrative decisions by border agencies.

Co-operation – External

Co-operation with neighbouring and third countries.

Co-operation – Internal

Co-operation between various border agencies of the country; control delegation to customs authorities.

Fees and Charges

Disciplines on the fees and charges imposed on imports and exports.

Formalities – Automation

Electronic exchange of data; automated border procedures; use of risk management.

Formalities – Documents

Simplification of trade documents; harmonisation in accordance with international standards; acceptance of copies.

Formalities – Procedures

Streamlining of border controls; single submission points for all required documentation (single windows); post-clearance audits; authorised economic operators.

Governance and Impartiality

Customs structures and functions; accountability; ethics policy.

Information Availability

Publication of trade information, including on internet; enquiry points.

Involvement of the Trade Community

Consultations with traders.


Contact us

If you have questions regarding our work on trade facilitation, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Related Documents