Science and technology policy

Global Science Forum Bureau members


Mr. Gabriele Fioni - Chair

Picture of Mr. Gabriele Fioni, Global Science Forum Bureau member

Born in Bologna (Italy) in 1962, Gabriele Fioni is a Nuclear Physicist, graduate in Physics of the Bologna University  (Italy) and Doctor of Science of the Ghent University (Belgium).

Currently he is Director for International Corporate Cooperation, with responsibility for the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER) project, and Deputy Director of CEA Tech, the technology research division of the French Atomic and Alterative Energies Commission (CEA). He is the vice-chair of the Fusion for Energy European domestic Agency for ITER and chair of its Technical Advisory Panel.

From 2012 to end 2015 he was Director of the Physical Sciences Division that was in charge of all Physics and Chemistry fundamental research at CEA. From 2008 to 2012, he was Scientific Director and Deputy Director General for Research and Innovation at the French Ministry for Higher Education and Research. Prior to that he has held several senior strategic and managerial positions as CEA.

Mr. Thierry Courvoisier

Picture of Mr. Thierry Courvoisier, Global Science Forum Bureau member.

Thierry J.-L. Courvoisier is an astrophysicist from Geneva, Switzerland. He studied theoretical physics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETHZ) and obtained a PhD, also in theoretical physics, at the University of Zurich in 1980. He was a scientist in ESA’s X-ray astronomy project EXOSAT at the European Space Operations centre (ESOC) in Darmstadt (Germany), and worked on HST at the Space Telescope European Coordinating Facility at the European Southern Observatory, ESO, in Garching (Germany). He is honorary professor at the University of Geneva. He developed high energy astrophysics at the University of Geneva and created and led the INTEGRAL Science Data Centre (ISDC) that is in charge of processing, archiving, analysing and distributing worldwide the data from ESA’s gamma ray astronomy satellite INTEGRAL. His research has mainly dealt with the physics of active galactic nuclei. Thierry Courvoisier is president of the European Astronomical Society (EAS), of the Swiss Academy of Natural Sciences (SCNAT) and of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences, and is soon to be president of the European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC).

Mr. Kimikazu Iwase

Picture of Mr. Kimikazu Iwase, Global Science Forum Bureau member.

Mr Iwase is Director-General, Research Institute of Science and Technology for Society (RISTEX), Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST). Mr Iwase was born in Japan in 1956. He studied chemistry at the University of Tokyo, receiving BS in 1979 and MS in 1981, and studied business administration at Dartmouth College, U.S.A., receiving MBA in 1988.

He joined government service in 1981, and has served in a wide range of functions at Japanese government agencies and government-affiliated institutions, mainly focusing on science and technology. He was Deputy Director-General of Science and Technology Policy Bureau at Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, 2007-2009, and Deputy Director-General for Science, Technology and Innovation Policy at Cabinet Office, 2009-2011. He has also managed research institutions as Executive Vice President of National Institute for Materials Science, 2011-2012, and of Tohoku University, 2012-2014.

Mr Iwase has worked on international affairs in various capacities, which include serving as First Secretary for Science at the Japanese Embassy in Washington DC, 1992-1995. He has also directed R&D programs in diverse fields from space development to super computers.

Ms. Arja Kallio

Picture of Ms. Arja Kallio, Global Science Forum Bureau member. Dr Arja Kallio is Director of the Programme Unit at the Academy of Finland  since15 February 2010. Her previous merits include the position as Head of the Life, Earth and Environmental Sciences  unit at the European Science Foundation in Strasbourg during  2006-2009. She also has previous experience of the Academy of Finland, having been Director of the Academy’s Biosciences and Environment Research Unit prior to her work at the ESF for five years. Her scientific experience is in biochemistry and molecular biology.

Ms. Mahlet N. Mesfin



Mr. Sun Kun Oh

Picture of Mr. Sun Kun Oh, Global Science Forum Bureau member. Dr Sun Kun Oh is a professor of physics at Konkuk University, Seoul, Korea. His major field is high energy physics, or particle physics, acquired his Ph.D. at KAIST, Korea. He visited Oxford University (1983-1984, British Council Scholar), RWTH Aachen (1990-1991, DFG Scholar), KEK and CERN in 2013, and currently a member of the ALICE collaboration for the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) experiments at CERN. Dr Oh has joined the GSF as a Korean delegate since 2001. He has worked for several GSF activities, including the Consultative Group for High Energy Physics between 2001 and 2004 and the Astroparticle Physics International Forum (APIF) since 2011 onward. He is now involved in the open data and open science activities of GSF.

Ms. Ditta Zizi

 Picture of Ms. Ditta Zizi, Global Science Forum Bureau member. Ditta has had both private and public sector experience having worked in policy and program delivery in the areas of industry development, innovation, governance, pharmaceutical, aviation and research infrastructure. Her public sector experience has included Commonwealth agencies such as the previous iterations of the Department of Industry, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and Airservices Australia. Her private sector experience includes senior roles with the peak industry bodies as well as a board member of a number of arts and community organisations.

Ditta is the Australian Government delegate to the OECD Global Science Forum and current Chairman of the Group of Senior Official on Research Infrastructures. Ditta has a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Music both from the Australian National University, and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Corporate Governance. She is a member of the Governance Institute of Australia and Corporate Secretaries International Association (CSIA).



Related Documents