Science, technology and innovation policy

Global Science Forum Bureau members


Global Science Forum > Bureau

Picture of Mr. Gabriele Fioni, Global Science Forum Bureau member

Mr. Gabriele Fioni - Chair

Born in Bologna (Italy) in 1962, Gabriele Fioni is a Nuclear Physicist, graduate in Physics of the Bologna University (Italy) and Doctor of Science of the Ghent University (Belgium).

Currently he is Director for International Corporate Cooperation, with responsibility for the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER) project, and Deputy Director of CEA Tech, the technology research division of the French Atomic and Alterative Energies Commission (CEA). He is the vice-chair of the Fusion for Energy European domestic Agency for ITER and chair of its Technical Advisory Panel.

From 2012 to end 2015 he was Director of the Physical Sciences Division that was in charge of all Physics and Chemistry fundamental research at CEA. From 2008 to 2012, he was Scientific Director and Deputy Director General for Research and Innovation at the French Ministry for Higher Education and Research. Prior to that he has held several senior strategic and managerial positions as CEA.

Picture of Mr. Thierry Courvoisier, Global Science Forum Bureau member.

Mr. Thierry Courvoisier

Thierry J.-L. Courvoisier is an astrophysicist from Geneva, Switzerland. He studied theoretical physics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETHZ) and obtained a PhD, also in theoretical physics, at the University of Zurich in 1980. He was a scientist in ESA’s X-ray astronomy project EXOSAT at the European Space Operations centre (ESOC) in Darmstadt (Germany), and worked on HST at the Space Telescope European Coordinating Facility at the European Southern Observatory, ESO, in Garching (Germany). He is honorary professor at the University of Geneva. He developed high energy astrophysics at the University of Geneva and created and led the INTEGRAL Science Data Centre (ISDC) that is in charge of processing, archiving, analysing and distributing worldwide the data from ESA’s gamma ray astronomy satellite INTEGRAL. His research has mainly dealt with the physics of active galactic nuclei. Thierry Courvoisier is president of the European Astronomical Society (EAS), of the Swiss Academy of Natural Sciences (SCNAT) and of the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences, and is soon to be president of the European Academies Science Advisory Council (EASAC).



Ms. Catherine Ewart

Dr. Catherine Ewart is Associate Director for Stakeholder and International Relations at the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC), which is part of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI). She has considerable experience within the UK research system, particularly in strategic and corporate management roles including business planning, corporate communications, political stakeholder engagement, programme management and information management. For the last few years she has been responsible for STFC’s relations with European and global organisations with a specific focus on the strategic and policy aspects of international research infrastructures.

Currently, Catherine represents the UK as a research infrastructure (RI) expert on international forums such as the G7 Group of Senior Officials on Global Research Infrastructures (GSO). She sits on the Board of the UK Research Office (UKRO) in Brussels. She is also a member of the Strategic Advisory Board for the School of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Nottingham and is Vice-Chair of the E-RIHS (European Research Infrastructure for Heritage Science) Stakeholder Advisory Board. Catherine was seconded to the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills in 2014, where she helped to develop “Our Plan for Growth”, the UK Government’s Strategy for Science and Innovation.

Catherine obtained her undergraduate degree in Botany from The University of Manchester, her PhD from The University of Sheffield and her Masters Degree in Science Communication from The Open University.

 Hanne Hvatum

Ms. Hanne Hvatum

Ms. Hanne Hvatum is Senior Adviser in the Ministry of Education and Research, Norway. Her areas of responsibility and work have varied through the years, but research infrastructure has been a common denominator, both nationally and internationally (former delegate to the EU-commission RI Programme Committee, contact point for Norwegian participation in the ESFRI-process, contact person for the Norwegian membership in CERN, IARC, ESRF and EMBL, participating in the development of national guidelines and national financing of research infrastructure).  In the last years UNESCO has taken much of her time, with UNESCO's science sectors as particular responsibility. Hanne is in charge of the national inter-ministerial committee for IOC-matters (Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission).



Picture of Mr. Kimikazu Iwase, Global Science Forum Bureau member.

Mr. Kimikazu Iwase

Mr. Iwase is Principal Fellow, Center for Research and Development Strategy (CRDS). Mr. Iwase was born in Japan in 1956. He studied chemistry at the University of Tokyo, receiving a BS in 1979 and MS in 1981, and studied business administration at Dartmouth College, U.S.A., receiving an MBA in 1988.

He joined government service in 1981, and has served in a wide range of functions at Japanese government agencies and government-affiliated institutions, mainly focusing on science and technology. He was Deputy Director-General of Science and Technology Policy Bureau at Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, 2007-2009, and Deputy Director-General for Science, Technology and Innovation Policy at Cabinet Office, 2009-2011. He has also managed research institutions as Executive Vice President of National Institute for Materials Science, 2011-2012, and of Tohoku University, 2012-2014.

Mr Iwase has worked on international affairs in various capacities, which include serving as First Secretary for Science at the Japanese Embassy in Washington DC, 1992-1995. He has also directed R&D programs in diverse fields from space development to super computers.


Picture of Mr. Sun Kun Oh, Global Science Forum Bureau member.

Mr. Sun Kun Oh

Dr. Sun Kun Oh is a professor of physics at Konkuk University, Seoul, Korea. His major field is high energy physics, or particle physics, acquired his Ph.D. at KAIST, Korea. He visited Oxford University (1983-1984, British Council Scholar), RWTH Aachen (1990-1991, DFG Scholar), KEK and CERN in 2013, and currently a member of the ALICE collaboration for the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) experiments at CERN. Dr Oh has joined the GSF as a Korean delegate since 2001. He has worked for several GSF activities, including the Consultative Group for High Energy Physics between 2001 and 2004 and the Astroparticle Physics International Forum (APIF) since 2011 onward. He is now involved in the open data and open science activities of GSF.


Ms. Jeannette Ridder-Numan

Jeannette Ridder-Numan is Senior Coordinating Adviser for Research Infrastrcutures and Interional Organizations at the Ministry of Education and Research in the Netherlands. After her PhD in Biology she started working here in 2000 and has had different areas of responsibility varying from different scientific domains to a secondment at the Innovation Platform. Back at the Ministry in 2006 she worked as deputy head and took up the areas of biomedical research and  research infrastructures.  This latter part consisted of both national and international fora: I am a delegate in the EU RI Programme Committee, ESFRI, Fusion For Energy (the EU-part of ITER), contact person for all ERIC projects the Netherlands is a member of and the liaison between the government and the national committee on research infrastructures (National Roadmap, funding for Roadmap projects, etc.)  


Related Documents