Directorate for Science, Technology and Innovation

Consumer Policy Toolkit Workshop - Agenda


Introductory remarks

Workshop Chair:

Michael JENKIN, Director General, Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada; Chairman, Committee on Consumer Policy, OECD


Applying the Consumer Policy Toolkit


Andrew WYCKOFF, Director for Science, Technology and Industry, OECD

Panel 1 – Misleading and fraudulent claims


Panel Chair:
Stacy FEUER, Assistant Director for International Consumer Protection, Federal Trade Commission, United States



  • Tim LEAR, Director, International Unit, Australian Competition & Consumer Commission
  • Brent HOMAN, Assistant Deputy Commissioner of Competition, Competition Bureau of Canada
  • Satu TOEPFER, Senior Legal Adviser, Consumer Agency and Ombudsman, Finland
  • Matthieu DECONINCK, Adjoint au Chef du Bureau Communications électroniques et Médias, Sous-direction des Services, Direction Générale de la Concurrence, de la Consommation et de la Répression des Fraudes, Ministère de l’Économie, des Finances et de l'Industrie, France
  • Elissa FREEMAN, Director, Policy and Campaigns, Australian Communications Consumer Action Network
  • Lars KINDERVATER, Head of Consumer Policy, Service Headquarters, Public and Regulatory Affairs, Deutsche Telekom


Panel 2 – Contract terms

 Panel Chair:

William MACLEOD, Partner, Kelley Drye & Warren LLP, United States; Vice-chair, Task Force on Consumer Policy, BIAC


  • Jorge PASSALACQUA, Directeur de la Planification et des Communications, Office de la Protection du Consommateur, Gouvernement du Québec, Canada
  • Yair HAKAK, Senior Economist, Economics and Budget Department, Ministry of Communications, Israel
  • Lynn PARKER, Director, Consumer Protection, OFCOM; and Jason FREEMAN, Legal Director, Consumer Group, Office of Fair Trading, United Kingdom
  • Maurice WESSLING, Policy Adviser Digital, Consumentenbond, the Netherlands
  • Monica PLACIDI, Head of Consumer Protection, Public & Regulatory Affairs, Telecom Italia


Panel 3 – Billing issues

Panel Chair:

Jill JOHNSTONE, Director, International Policy Advocacy, Consumer Focus, United Kingdom



  • Joel GURIN, Chief, Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau, Federal Communications Commission, United States
  • Peter VAN HERCK, Inspector, DG Control and Mediation, Internet Surveillance Unit, Ministry of Economy, Belgium
  • Boštjan OKORN, Product Testing Co-ordinator, Slovene Consumers' Association
  • Richard N. CLARKE, Assistant Vice President, Economic and Regulatory Policy, AT&T