Regulatory policy

Bureau members of the Network of Economic Regulators


A number of delegates of the NER are designated to serve as officers to represent the Network of Economic Regulators. They provide more detailed direction to the OECD Secretariat on issues of management and the planning of the Programme of Work. These representatives are known as "the Bureau".

Bureau members participate in planning meetings with the Secretariat prior to each NER meeting and provide ongoing consultation by telephone and through email and written exchanges.

The members of the Network of Economic Regulators Bureau for 2015 are:


Luigi Carbone (Chair of the NER; Italy


Luigi Carbone is a Divisional President of The Supreme Administrative Court of Italy (Consiglio di Stato). In February 2011 he was appointed for seven years as a Commissioner of the Italian Regulatory Authority for Electricity, Gas and Water. In most of his activities, at the national and international level, he has dealt with the topic of regulatory reform. Among his other jobs, he has been Deputy Secretary General of the Italian Prime Minister, Executive Chair of the Regulatory Simplification Unit of the Italian Prime Minister's Office, member of a high-level group of independent experts for regulatory and administrative simplification set up by Confindustria, the main Italian Business Association. Between his other scientific activities, he is lecturer in the Italian (SNA) and the French (ENA) public training institutes, as well as in several Italian Universities and in private institutes. At international level, he is actually Permanent Vice President of MEDREG - The Association of the Mediterranean Regulatory Authorities for energy Indipendent regulators and represents Italy at the High Level Group on Better Regulation of the European Commission and - from 2009 to 2013 – has been member of the Bureau of the Regulatory Policy Committee at the OECD. Among others, he was the Italian member of the "Mandelkern Group on better regulation".

Cristina Cifuentes (Australia)


Cristina Cifuentes was appointed a Commissioner of the ACCC in May 2013 for a five year term. Cristina has a breadth of experience in both the public and private sectors across public policy, finance and utility regulation, including positions at the Reserve Bank of Australia, the NSW Treasury and the Australian Securities Commission. She served as the State part-time Member of the Australian Energy Regulator between 2010 and 2013. Cristina was a member of the NSW Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal between 1997 and 2006. Cristina is chair of the ACCC’s Communications Committee and the ACCC’s Infrastructure Committee. She oversees the ACCC’s regulatory role in relation to key infrastructure in areas such as telecommunications, wheat ports, rail, and water. She is also the Commonwealth Member of the AER Board which has responsibility for regulating the national electricity and gas markets. Before becoming an ACCC Commissioner, Cristina held a number of directorships including with the Hunter Water Corporation and First State Super Trustee Corporation.Cristina holds a first class honours degree in Law and a degree in Economics.

Dr. Annegret Groebel (Germany)


Dr. Annegret Groebel has held the post of Head of Section "International Co-ordination", in the German Regulatory Authority for Telecommunications and Post since 2001 and was promoted Head of Department International Relations/Postal Regulation in 2009. She also holds key positions at the Independent Regulators Group (IRG). She is actively involved in the work of the European Regulators Group (ERG) and of the newly created Body of European Regulators for Electronic Communications (BEREC). She is responsible for all contacts to other European and non-European regulatory bodies as well as for the contacts with the European Commission, including CEER, ACER in the energy field, ERG-Post and IRG Railways. In March 2012, she was appointed Vice-President of the Council of European Energy Regulators (CEER). and became the alternate member of the ACER Board of Regulators representing BNetzA at the BoR Plenary meetings. Since August 2013 she is co-chairing the Market Integrity and Transparency Working Groups of ACER and CEER. In November 2013 she was appointed to be a member of the NER Bureau supporting the NER Chair Luigi Carbone (AEEG). Dr. Groebel has worked for the German Regulatory Authority for Telecommunications and Post since 1997 (renamed in 2005 to Federal Network Agency for Electricity, Gas, Telecommunications, Post and Railway). She has expertise in the European regulatory framework for electronic communications and implementation, as well as the regulatory framework for the internal energy market and is lecturing at universities in Germany, the FSR in Italy, and Switzerland. She has advised public authorities on regulatory reform and sector specific regulation. She is an economist by training.

Jaime Fernando de Melo Baptista



Jaime Fernando de Melo Baptista graduated in 1975 in Civil Engineering at the Oporto University (Faculty of Engineering) and specialised in 1976 in Sanitary Engineering at the New University of Lisbon, Portugal. Since 2003, he is the President of the Portuguese Water and Waste Services Regulation Authority (ERSAR), in charge of regulating public water supply services, urban wastewater services and municipal waste services. The first part of his career, between 1976 and 2003, was dedicated to research, in the National Laboratory of Civil Engineering (LNEC). Over the last 30 years, he has held several responsibilities at the International Water Association, both related directly with the association structure but also with the IWSA/IWA Portuguese representation. He is author and co-author of more than 300 technical and scientific papers.

Andy Burgess
(Uniited Kingdom)


Andy Burgess works across Ofgem’s two network divisions and brings together policy thinking across the different types of energy networks – transmission and distribution in both electricity and gas. He is particularly involved on the distribution side in developing thinking on smarter grids, network innovation connections and stakeholder engagement on gas transmission policy and charging. He is Co-Chair of the CEER (European Regulators) Smart Grids Co-ordination Group. Until October 2011, Andy was Head of Enforcement and Competition Policy at Ofgem, leading on Ofgem’s approach to use of the range of its enforcement powers – under competition law, consumer protection legislation, and sectoral legislation. He joined Ofgem in 2008 from the Office of Rail Regulation (ORR), where he was Head of Network Regulation, and interim Deputy Director of Industry Monitoring and Analysis. Andy had previously held a number of posts at ORR, including leading on European Policy and developing ORR’s strategy and corporate planning and managing regulatory oversight of commercial access contracts for rail infrastructure.


Read more about

» Regulatory policy and governance


Related Documents


Also AvailableEgalement disponible(s)