Newsroom

OECD to release Latin American Economic Outlook on 28 October 2008

 

16/10/2008 - The OECD Development Centre will publish its latest Latin American Economic Outlook 2009 on Tuesday 28 October 2008, at 06:00 El Salvador time (13:00 in Paris, noon GMT). The report  looks at how tax systems, public spending and debt management can help combat inequality and social exclusion.

 

OECD Secretary General Angel Gurría will present the report at a conference at the Sheraton Hotel, San Salvador at 18:15 local time the same day. Also present will be the President of El Salvador, Elías Antonio Saca; the President of Guatemala, Álvaro Colom; and ministers of foreign affairs from the region.

 

Requests to receive the report by e-mail under embargo the day before, in English, French or Spanish, should be sent to Kate Bailey.  By requesting the survey under embargo, journalists undertake to respect the OECD’s embargo procedures. The report will also be available on the journalists’ password-protected website once the embargo is lifted.

 

To register for the conference in El Salvador, journalists should send an e-mail to Rita Da Costa.

 

Further information about the Latin American Economic Outlook 2009 will be available at: www.oecd.org/dev/publications/leo2009. You are invited to include this internet link in reports on the survey.

 

Printed copies of the Economic Outlook can be mailed to journalists, on request, on the day of publication.

 

 

 

Also Available