Newsroom

OECD to launch Skills Outlook 2017: Skills and global value chains, 09:00 GMT on Thursday 4 May

 

26/04/2017 - Amid a growing debate over the benefits of globalisation, a new OECD report examines how the level and mix of skills in a country’s workforce can affect its chances of winning or losing from the globalised production chains that see workers dotted across different countries contributing to the design, manufacture and sale of a single product.

 

OECD Director for Education and Skills Andreas Schleicher and OECD Director for Science, Technology and Innovation Andrew Wyckoff will present the OECD Skills Outlook 2017: Skills and global value chains at an event starting at 10:00 a.m. at the Institute of Directors, 116 Pall Mall, London SW1Y 5ED. The presentation, co-hosted by the University of Bath’s Institute for Policy Research, will be followed by a question and answer session with media.

 

Journalists wishing to attend should contact Catherine Bremer in the OECD Media Office (catherine.bremer@oecd.org; +33 1 45 24 80 97). The report will be available to journalists in advance under embargo on request and will be available to all journalists registered on the OECD's password-protected website at 10:00 UK time (11:00 CEST) on May 4.

 

Journalists are also welcome to connect to a public webinar presenting the report at 14:00 GMT/16:00 CEST the same day at the following link: https://oecd1000.webex.com/oecd1000/onstage/g.php?MTID=e7aa257f4f3f40dabd6884c34161ccd56

 

The report is part of the OECD’s biennial Skills Outlook series that expands on the findings of the 2013 OECD Survey of Adult Skills (PIAAC), testing the skills of more than 150,000 adults in 24 countries. The 2017 report also uses the OECD-WTO Trade in Value Added (TiVA) database, which measures trade according to the value added each time a product or service is exported or imported within a global production chain.

 

Related Documents