Share

> versión en español 

Virtual Ministerial Summit on Social Inclusion: Informality and Inclusion in the times of COVID-19

This year’s Ministerial will bring together ministers and high-level officials in the fields of labour, planning, economy and social development to engage in a frank discussion on how the COVID-19 crisis will affect the social inclusion agenda in Latin American and Caribbean. It aims to provide opportunities to identify and envisage ways to transition to formality and resume job creation, and advance the much-needed creation of consensus on the socio-economic reforms to be implemented in the aftermath of the COVID-19 crisis.

The Ministerial Summit will be chaired and hosted by the Government of the Dominican Republic.

 13, 15, 16 and 17 July 2020        Virtually 

  • Public sessions
13 July (webcast)
  • Ministerial sessions
15, 16 and 17 July (by invitation only)
  • LACRP Steering Group
17 July (by invitation only)

> versión en español

Agenda

Public sessions

These sessions will be transmitted to a wide audience through a virtual platform.

Opening high-level dialogue: Informality and Social Inclusion in the times of COVID-19

 

 

16h–17h CET

10h–11h EST

9h–10h CST

  

Opening – Monday, 13 July

 

High Level Dialogue: Informality and Social Inclusion in the times of COVID-19

Opening and moderation: Ángel Gurría, Secretary-General of the OECD*

►   Danilo Medina, President of the Dominican Republic

►   Carlos Alvarado, President of Costa Rica*

►   Martin Vizcarra, President of Peru*

►   Marta Lucia Ramírez, Vice-President of Colombia*

►   Marcelo Ebrard, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Mexico*

►   Walter Braga Netto, Minister-Chief of Staff of the Presidency, Brazil*

 

 

17h–18h30 CET

11h–12h30 EST

10h–11h30 CST

 

From an impending issue to an emergency: the imperative need for a new and more inclusive social pact in Latin America and the Caribbean

Moderation: Gabriela Ramos, OECD Chief of Staff and Sherpa to the G20

Panellists:

►   Miguel Vargas, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dominican Republic

►   Alicia Bárcena, Executive Secretary of ECLAC*

►   Hernando de Soto, President of the Institute for Liberty and Democracy*

►   Ignacio Briones, Minister of Finance of Chile*

 Download full agenda ENG | SPA

 

Ministerial sessions

Participation in the Ministerial sessions is limited to invited authorities and international organisations. 

15h40–16h CET

9h40–10h EST

8h40–9h CST

Opening – Wednesday, 15 July

Welcoming remarks

►   Miguel Vargas, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dominican Republic

►   Andreas Schaal, OECD Global Relations Director

►   Mario Pezzini, Director of the OECD Development Centre

 

 

16h–18h CET

10h–12h EST

9h–11h CST

 


Ministerial Session 1 – Wednesday, 15 July

Informality during and beyond COVID-19: good practices and the imperative of universal safety nets

Chair: Nelson Toca,Minister of Industry, Trade and SMEs, Dominican Republic*

Moderator: Mario Pezzini, Director of the OECD Development Centre

Lead speakers:

►   Minister

►   Minister

►   Minister

Discussion (Ministries of Labour / Social Development)

 

 

16h–18h CET

10h–-12h EST

9h–11h CST

 


Ministerial Session 2 – Thursday, 16 July

Resuming employment growth with better opportunities for vulnerable groups (women, migrants, indigenous groups and youth)

 

Chair: Winston Santos,Minister of Labour / Janet Camilo, Minister of Women, Dominican Republic

Moderator: Stefano Scarpetta, Director of the Employment, Labour and Social Affairs Directorate, OECD

Lead speakers:

►   Vinicius Pinheiro,Director for LAC, International Labour Organisation*

►   Minister

►   Minister

Discussion (Ministries of Labour)

 

 

15h30–17h CET

9h30–11h EST

8h30–10h CST

Ministerial Session 3 - Friday, 17 July 

Inclusive social dialogue and citizen engagement to enhance social cohesion and ownership of recovery measures

Chair: Gustavo Montalvo, Minister of the Presidency, Dominican Republic

Moderator: Andreas Schaal, OECD Director for Global Relations

►   Minister

►   Minister

►   Minister

Discussion (Ministries of Planning, Social Development & Centres of Government)

 

17h–17h20 CET

11h–11h20 EST

10h–10h20 CST

Closing

  • Concluding remarks

    ►   Juan Ariel Jiménez, Minister of Economy and Development, Dominican Republic Minister*

    ►   Andreas Schaal, OECD Director for Global Relations

    ►   Mario Pezzini, Director of the OECD Development Centre

 
 
 * to be confirmed

LAC Regional Programme Steering Group Meeting

The Steering Group Meeting is limited to invited member country delegations and international organisations

 

17:30 – 19:30 hrs CET

11:30 – 13:30 hrs EST

10:30 – 12:30 hrs CS                                                                                                        

Friday, 17 July

This virtual meeting of the Steering Group will serve to discuss how the LACRP can foster synergies and mobilise action for the region to address the issues of social inclusion and informality. The key outcomes of the week’s virtual Social Inclusion Summit will be presented. Delegates will be invited to offer strategic guidance on 1) implementation efforts thus far on the priorities of the Programmatic Document 2019-2022; and 2) proposals for adjustments and new projects building on the outcomes of this Summit, especially in light of the COVID-19 global crisis.  

Welcoming Remarks and Conclusions from the Second Ministerial Summit

  • Co-Chairs of the LAC Regional Programme (Mexico and Brazil)

Time for inclusiveness: mobilising the OECD LAC Regional Programme

  • Andreas Schaal, Director of Global Relations, OECD

  • Mario Pezzini, Director of the OECD Development Centre

Discussion amongst Delegations

Concluding Remarks: Miguel Vargas, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dominican Republic

Speakers

Angel Gurría, OECD

Secretary-General

Read the bio ENG | ESP 

@A_Gurria 

Danilo Medina Sánchez, Dominican Republic

President

Read the bio ENG | ESP

@DaniloMedina

 

 

Registration

‌Attendance to the private section of the Ministerial is by invitation only.

*Information to participate in the public section of the Ministerial will become available in the following weeks.

Practical information

  • Virtually connect to the meeting (forthcoming)
  • Download the agenda (forthcoming)

Organisers