OECD Central Asia Initiative

Launched in November 2008, the OECD Central Asia Initiative (CAI) aims to render the region more competitive and attractive to foreign investment. The Initiative covers seven countries: Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. OECD and partner countries help to define the CAI work priorities and to identify new policy areas for OECD intervention. The CAI is an integral part of the OECD Eurasia Competitiveness Programme and is co-chaired by the EU and Kyrgyzstan.

CAI Co-chairs


The projects carried out by the OECD Eurasia Competitiveness Programme in the context of the Central Asia Initiative combine analytical work, capacity-building activities and monitoring of reform implementation.  Country-specific work is peer reviewed at the OECD Eurasia Competitiveness Roundtable.   

Investment and Competitiveness in Central Asia

Working to create a sound business climate for investment, increased productivity and competitiveness in six of the CAI countries.

Read more

Supporting Competitiveness and Economic Diversification in Kazakhstan

Providing analysis and policy recommendations to Kazakhstan on how to build a more knowledge-based and private sector-led economy.

Read more

Contact us

For more information about the CAI, please contact:
Grégory Lecomte, Project Manager

Follow us on: @OECDeurasia