Climate change

OECD and the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change


In 1994, 192 countries ratified an international treaty -- the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), commonly known as "the Convention" -- to begin to consider what can be done to reduce global warming (mitigation) and how to cope with whatever temperature increases are inevitable (adaptation). More recently, a number of nations approved an addition to the treaty: the Kyoto Protocol, which has more ambitious (and legally binding) measures.

OECD actively participates in the annual UN conferences on climate change and has done so for many years.

2014: COP20 Lima

2013: COP19 Warsaw

2012: COP18 Doha

2011: COP17 Durban

2010: COP16 Cancun

2009: COP15 Copenhagen

2008: COP14 Poznan 

2008: COP13 Bali 

2007: COP12 Nairobi 


Related information