Environment Directorate

Agenda - Meeting of OECD Environment Ministers, 16 May 2001


The meeting was held at the Headquarters of the Organisation in Paris on Wednesday 16 May 2001.

 Ministerial Conference with Stakeholders

 9.00 - 10.00

  • Ministerial Conference with Stakeholders (BIAC, TUAC, Environmental NGOs)


10.00 - 10.10

Statements by the Chair (Mme Dominique VOYNET, Minister of Spatial Planning and Environment, France) and the OECD Secretary-General (Mr Donald Johnston)



Session I

10.10 - 11.30

Maintain ecosystem integrity: Stopping renewable natural resources from becoming "non-renewable"
Lead speakers: Mrs Siri BJERKE (Norway), Mr José SÓCRATES (Portugal)


Session II

11.30 - 13.00

De-coupling environmental degradation from economic growth: How do we achieve it?
Lead speakers: Mr Robert HILL (Australia), Ms Christine WHITMAN (United States), Mrs Margot WALLSTRÖM (European Commission)


Working Lunch

13.00 - 15.00

On the road to the World Summit on Sustainable Development: International environmental interdependence
Key-note speaker: Mr Ian JOHNSON (World Bank)


Session III

15.00 - 16.30

De-coupling in specific sectors: Putting the brakes on environmental pressures from increased energy and transport use
Lead speakers: Mr Milos KUZVART (Czech Republic), Mr Svend AUKEN (Denmark)


Adoption and Endorsements

16.30 - 17.00

  • Adoption of the OECD Environmental Strategy
  • Endorsement of the use of the OECD Environmental Key Indicators as a tool for use in OECD work
  • Endorsement of the Environmentally Sustainable Transport (EST) Guidelines

Session IV

17.00 - 18.00

Closing the "implementation gap": The OECD Environmental Strategy in action
Lead speakers: Ms Yoriko KAWAGUCHI (Japan) (tbc), Mr Jürgen TRITTIN (Germany)


Press Conference



Related Documents