Productivity and long term growth

Going for Growth 2016: Executive Summary in Chinese

 

内容提要


近期来看,全球增长前景依然乌云密布,新兴市场经济体正在失去增长动力,世界贸易减速,发达经济体的复苏也被持续疲软的投资所拖累。在近期这些令人关切的问题背后,是普遍存在的生产率增速减慢问题。这种下行趋势可以追溯到二十一世纪初——至少发达经济体是这种情况,而且目前没有什么复苏迹象。在过去几年里,新兴市场经济体的经济增长在减速,这不禁令人产生疑问:这些经济体是否有能力进一步弥合它们同最发达国家的收入差距。为持续提高生产率和创造就业机会,仍需推行结构性改革,并配合需求侧的政策,这将有助于改善公平。


《力争增长》进行了全面评估,帮助各国政府思考政策改革可能会对其公民福祉产生何种影响,并且制定最有利于实现目标的一整套政策。《力争增长》框架也有助于20国集团国家衡量其为履行2014年做出的承诺所做的努力,即促进20国集团成员国国内生产总值增长2%,并相应调整各自的增长战略。


本中期报告综述了经合组织和一些非经合组织国家在增长方面面临的主要挑战,也盘点了过去一年左右在推行结构性政策改革以化解挑战方面取得的进展(第1章)。在盘点进展时,考虑了《力争增长》2015版本确认的各国改革优先事项的主旨。本报告还讨论了旨在实现包容和宏观经济再平衡的促增长改革的潜在意义,其重点在于巩固公共财政,减轻经常账户失衡以及减少收入水平的不平等。


报告还综述了在需求持续疲软的背景下,实施各项改革所产生影响的问题与证据,以及不同情况下支持改革的宏观经济政策的到位情况或其实际效果(第2章)。最后,报告评估了国内总产值所产生的收入与分配和居民收入之间的关联(第3章)。具体而言,报告分析了在过去二十年里经合组织各国的国内总产值增长向家庭部门传导的主要渠道是如何变化的。


政策改革挑战

  • 为持续改善大多数公民的福祉,世界各国政府在谋划改革战略时,需要解决深层次结构性薄弱环节的问题,使危机无处藏身。但在很多情况下,这些薄弱环节往往由来已久。
  • 全球生产率增速放缓的特点是,各行业企业之间的生产率增长差距不断拉大,尤其是龙头企业与在生产率边界之内正常运行的所有其他企业之间的差距在扩大。而龙头企业基本上是生产率增长保持稳定的跨国企业。改革的一项优先事项是,清除障碍,释放创业动力,让企业能够充分利用知识和技术普及。
  • 降低失业率仍是许多国家的一项主要挑战,南欧和中欧国家尤其如此,其长期失业率仍居高不下。其他国家正在面临相对较高的劳动力市场退出率(例如,美国)、女性劳动力参与水平低(韩国和日本)或非正式就业比例高(大多数新兴市场经济体)。要实现更加包容的增长,应对上述这些劳动力市场的挑战是改革的优先事项。

2015年取得的进展

 

  • 虽然在应对一些主要挑战方面取得了一定的进展,但2013-2014年表现出的改革步伐放缓在2015年依旧存在。(即使考虑到一些已经制订但尚未得到充分落实的措施之后也是如此)
  • 在不同国家和不同政策领域里改革步伐不一致。
    • 一般而言,南欧国家(特别是意大利和西班牙)的改革步伐仍然比北欧国家快。在欧洲之外,采取了相对较多与《力争增长》建议有关的措施的国家包括发达经济体中的日本以及新兴经济体中的中国、印度和墨西哥。
    • 相对而言,为提高女性劳动力参与率和改善教育成果而采取的行动较多,而在创新政策、公共部门效率或产品及劳动力市场规制方面采取的行动较少。
  • 在收入水平不平等特别突出的国家,在政策优先事项方面采取的大多数行动可能有助于缩小收入分配差距。不过,对于那些经常项目赤字最大的国家来说,最近采取的促增长行动不太可能减轻其国际收支失衡状况。

需求疲软背景下的改革

  • 在全球经济前景暗淡背景下,有充足理由优先开展那些不仅能够促进就业和提高生产率、而且也能以最佳方式在短期内支持经济活动的改革。
    • 除了提高公共基础设施投资方面的改革外,这种改革还包括减少需求受抑制服务部门的准入障碍,医疗和养老金领域应享福利的改革,以及住房政策和就业协助方面的改革,以促进劳动力在地域间和不同工作间流动。
    • 要提高结构性改革的短期成果,还需要解决金融部门仍存在的功能失调问题,以促进信贷向那些难以进入金融市场的个人和企业流动。
    • 在欧元区,如能提高改革的同步性,让货币政策有更大空间来减缓持续低通货膨胀率导致的实际利率的潜在增长,也有助于降低转型成本。
    • 预算空间非常有限的国家,可能只能优先采取短期回报率高或成本低的措施,同时确保其他措施使用筹资的方式尽可能有利于就业和增长。


国内总产值增长与家庭总收入

  • 20世纪90年代中期到2013年期间,经合组织大多数国家的国内总产值实际增长幅度往往超出家庭实际收入的增幅。
  • 出现这样的增长缺口,部分原因是一些因素没有政策牵引力,特别是消费价格(包括增值税)的增长高于生产成本的增长。例外的是挪威、澳大利亚和加拿大等大宗商品出口国。
  • 家庭收入在国内总产值中的占比(简单地定义为名义家庭可支配收入与名义国内总产值的比率)在本报告讨论期间,就所有经合组织国家平均值而言保持稳定。但这种平均稳定掩盖了不同国家在水平和变化上的差异,奥地利和韩国的占比出现大幅下滑,而斯洛伐克和芬兰则有了大幅增加。
  • 分析劳动、资本和次级(即,政府净转移)收入相对于国内总产值的占比,能够评估劳动者报酬占国内总产值比重的变化。很多国家的情况是,劳动者报酬占国内生产总值比重与家庭资本收入的占比同时下滑,表明利润没有再分配给家庭部门而是留在了企业部门。
  • 但是,经济体中的家庭、企业和政府部门间收入分配的变化与经合组织许多国家经历的家庭部门内收入水平不平等加剧之间没有明确的关联。

Productivity and long term growth

Going for Growth 2016: Executive Summary

 

Global growth prospects remain clouded in the near term, with emerging-market economies losing steam, world trade slowing down and the recovery in advanced economies being dragged down by persistently weak investment. These near-term concerns arise against the background of a widespread deceleration of productivity gains, with the downward trend going back to early 2000s – at least in advanced economies – and with little signs of revival. The growth slowdown observed among emerging-market economies over the past couple of years also raises questions about their capacity to further closing the income gap vis-à-vis most advanced countries. The case for structural reforms, combined with supporting demand policies, remains strong to sustainably lift productivity and the job creation that will promote improvements in equity.

Going for Growth offers a comprehensive assessment to help governments reflect on how policy reforms might affect their citizens’ wellbeing and to design policy packages that best meet their objectives. The Going for Growth framework is instrumental in helping G20 countries to monitor their efforts to fulfil the pledge made in 2014 of boosting their combined gross domestic product (GDP) by 2%, and to adapt their growth strategies accordingly.  

This interim report reviews the main growth challenges faced by OECD and selected non-OECD countries and takes stock of progress over the past year or so in adopting structural policy reforms to address them (Chapter 1). This is examined in light of the thrust of the country-specific priorities identified in the 2015 issue of Going for Growth. The potential implications of growth-enhancing reforms for inclusiveness and macroeconomic rebalancing are also discussed, with a focus on public finance consolidation, the narrowing of current account imbalances, and the reduction of income inequality.

The report also reviews the issues and evidence on the impact of reforms implemented in a context of persistently weak demand as well as under different cases regarding the availability or effectiveness of macroeconomic policies in supporting the reforms (Chapter 2). Finally, the report provides an assessment of the link between income generated from GDP and income distributed to households (Chapter 3). In particular, it examines how the main channels through which GDP growth is transmitted to the household sector have evolved over the past two decades across OECD countries.

Policy reform challenges

  • In devising reform strategies to sustainably improve the wellbeing of a majority of citizens, governments around the world need to address deep structural weaknesses that the crisis laid bare, but which in many cases originated well before.
  • The global slowdown in productivity growth has been characterised by the widening of the dispersion of productivity growth across firms within industries, in particular between frontier firms – essentially multinational enterprises which have maintained steady productivity growth – and all other firms that operate well within the productivity frontier. Removing barriers that stifle entrepreneurship and limit the capacity of firms to make the most of knowledge and technological diffusion is a reform priority.
  • Reducing unemployment continues to be a major challenge for many countries, particularly so in Southern and Central European countries where long-term unemployment remains particularly high. Other countries have been facing relatively high rates of labour market withdrawals (e.g. United States), low labour force participation of women (Korea and Japan) or a high incidence of informal employment (most emerging-market economies). Addressing these labour market challenges is a priority to make growth more inclusive.

Progress achieved in 2015

  • Even though progress is made in tackling some of the main challenges, the slowdown in the pace of reforms observed in 2013-14 has continued in 2015, even after taking into account measures that are in the pipeline but that have yet to be fully implemented.
  • The pace of reforms has varied both across countries and policy areas.
    • It continues to be generally higher in Southern European countries (in particular Italy and Spain) than among Northern European countries. Outside Europe, countries where a relatively high number of measures related to Going for Growth recommendations have been taken include Japan among advanced economies, and China, India and Mexico in the case of emerging economies.
    • Relatively more actions have been taken to lift the labour force participation of women and to improve educational outcomes, while fewer actions are observed in the areas of innovation policy, public sector efficiency or product and labour market regulation.
  • In countries where income inequality is a particular concern, the majority of actions taken on policy priorities are likely to help narrowing the income distribution. However, recent actions taken to boost growth are unlikely to help countries with largest current account deficits to narrow their external imbalances.

Reforming in a context of weak demand

  • Against the background of subdued global economic prospects, there is a good case for prioritising reforms that in addition to stimulate employment and productivity, can best support activity in the short term.
    • Aside from raising investment in public infrastructure, these include reductions of barriers to entry in services sectors with pent-up demand, reforms of benefit entitlements in the areas of health and pension, as well as reforms of housing policies and job-search assistance programmes to facilitate geographic and job mobility.
    • Increasing the short-term payoff from structural reforms also requires that remaining financial sector dysfunctions be addressed so as to improve the flow of credit to households and firms with limited access to financial markets.
    • In the euro area, a greater synchronisation of reforms would also help reduce the transition costs by giving greater scope to monetary policy to mitigate the potential rise in real interest rates resulting from persistently low inflation.
    • Countries with very limited budgetary room may have to prioritise on high short-term returns or on low-cost measures and ensure that others are financed through means that are as friendly as possible to employment and growth.

GDP growth and aggregate household income

  • Real GDP has tended to grow by more than real household income in the majority of OECD countries between the mid-1990s and 2013.
  • This growth gap is partly due to factors having little policy traction, in particular the fact that consumption prices (which include VAT) have tended to rise relative to production prices over the period under consideration, the only exceptions being commodity exporters such as Norway, Australia and Canada.
  • The household income share of GDP, simply defined as the ratio of nominal household
  • disposable income over nominal GDP, has been stable over the period under consideration and on average across OECD countries. This average stability masks heterogeneity in both the level and evolution across countries, with a large decline observed in Austria and Korea and a large increase in the Slovak Republic and Finland.
  • Developments in the household income share of GDP can be assessed by looking at the profile of households’ labour, capital and secondary ( i.e. net government transfers) income share of GDP. A large number of countries have experienced a concomitant decline in the labour share of GDP and in the share of capital income going to households, suggesting that a rising share of profits has been retained by the corporate sector instead of being redistributed to the household sector.
  • Yet, there are no clear links between the changes in income distribution between the household, corporate and government sectors of the economy on the one hand, and the rise in income inequality within the household sector experienced by many OECD countries, on the other.