Development finance statistics

South Africa's Development Co-operation


South African concessional finance for development reached USD 183 million in 2013, compared to USD 188 million in 2012 (OECD estimates). In 2013, 61% of South Africa’s total development co-operation was channelled through multilateral organisations.

The Strategic Plan (2010-13) of South Africa’s Department of International Relations and Co‑operation (DIRCO) includes “the African continent” and “strengthening South-South relations” as priorities. DIRCO is the main institution responsible for planning, implementing and co-ordinating South Africa’s development co-operation. It also manages the African Renaissance and International Cooperation Fund, which South Africa plans to replace with the South African Development Agency, to be created under DIRCO.

South Africa prioritises co-operation with the African continent, with a strong focus on member countries of the Southern African Development Community. The priority sectors of its bilateral development co‑operation are peacekeeping, security and governance. South Africa provides its bilateral development co-operation mostly in the form of technical co‑operation.

South Africa is also engaged in triangular co-operation, partnering with several Development Assistance Committee (DAC) members (e.g. Canada, Germany, Norway, Spain, Sweden and the United States) to support other developing countries (mainly in Africa) in areas such as governance, public security and post-conflict resolution.

In 2013, South Africa’s development co-operation through multilateral organisations was primarily channelled through the United Nations (34%) and the African Development Bank (26%) as well as through other, primarily regional organisations and the World Bank Group.

South Africa is a Key Partner of the OECD.