Africa and Middle East

Media advisory: Launch of the African Economic Outlook 2015

 

 9 a.m. GMT/Abidjan (5 a.m., New York; 11 a.m., Paris) on Monday, 25 May 2015.

 AfDB Annual Meetings, Sofitel Hotel Ivoire, Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire

Paris, 15 May 2015. The African Development Bank (AfDB), the OECD Development Centre and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) will publish their joint African Economic Outlook 2015, a yearly report containing projections, analyses and 54 country notes on macroeconomic, finance, trade and human development trends in Africa.The report will be launched on the first day of the 50th AfDB Annual Meetings , which will take place from May 25-29, 2015 in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire.

This 2015 Outlook’s thematic chapter will focus on regional development and spatial inclusion. It takes an analytical perspective at how the continent’s demographic pressures combined to the growth of cities pose important challenges and opportunities, while bringing forward innovative approaches to better tap the assets of African regions and secure the continent’s transformation by 2050.

The report will be launched by:

  • Steve Kayizzi-Mugerwa, Acting Chief Economist and Vice-President, AfDB Group
  • Mario Pezzini, Director, OECD Development Centre
  • Ayodele Odusola, Chief Economist, UNDP Africa

Media contacts for interview and information requests:

The African Economic Outlook 2015 and 54 country notes will be available in English and French from 9 a.m. GMT (Abidjan time) and 11 a.m., Paris time for immediate release on the African Economic Outlook website http://www.africaneconomicoutlook.org/en/.

The presentation will be webcast live (www.afdb.org/am) – Join the debate #AEO2015 and #AfDBAM2015.

Requests to receive the African Economic Outlook under embargo should be sent by e-mail to bochra.kriout@oecd.org. Journalists requesting an electronic version in advance of the release time and agree to respect OECD embargo conditions.

 

Please note: The OECD's embargo rules prohibit any broadcast, news wire service or Internet transmission of text or information about this report before the stated release time. They also prohibit any communication of the contents of the report or any comment on its forecasts or conclusions to any outside party whatsoever before the stated release time. News organisations receiving OECD material under embargo have been informed that if they breach the OECD's embargo rules they will automatically be excluded in the future from receiving embargoed information.

 

Related Documents