Development Co-operation Directorate

Development Assistance Committee (DAC)



The OECD Development Assistance Committee became part of the OECD by Ministerial Resolution on 23 July 1961. It is a unique international forum of many of the largest funders of aid, including 30 DAC Members. The World Bank, IMF and UNDP participate as observers.

The DAC has the mandate to:

 ... promote development co-operation and other policies so as to contribute to sustainable development, including pro-poor economic growth, poverty reduction, improvement of living standards in developing countries, and a future in which no country will depend on aid.

 Read the full mandate


The DAC's doors are open to countries beyond its members who are making growing contributions to development co-operation. At the annual DAC Senior Level Meeting on 6-7 April 2011, representatives of China attended for the first time; other important non-DAC member donors, such as Brazil, India, Indonesia and South Africa, also participated. To encourage co-ordination and understanding, the DAC issued a statement welcoming non-DAC partners to engage in a mutual learning dialogue. Read the full statement

The Chair of the Development Assistance Committee is Charlotte Petri Gornitzka.

In 2016 the DAC decided to set up a High Level Panel that will propose options for enhancing the Committee's inclusiveness and representativeness, and maximising its relevance and impact so as to better support sustainable development efforts.


The DAC remains at the heart of the OECD Development Co-operation Directorate, offering a wealth of experience and insights into how to co-ordinate and manage development finance for greater impact.


Key resources:

» Brochure: 50 years, 50 highlights, published 2010 (pdf, 920 kB)

» Joining the DAC