About the Latin American and Caribbean Competition Forum


The Latin American Competition Forum (LACF) was launched in April 2003 by the Inter-American Development Bank and the OECD as a joint effort to foster effective competition law and policy in Latin America and the Caribbean. After years of work in the region, the Forum came as a concrete means for the two organisations to promote dialogue, consensus building and networking among policy makers and enforcers.

In 2015, competition authorities decided to change the official Forum title to: Latin American and Caribbean Competition Forum (LACCF) to reflect the involvement of Caribbean countries in this annual event.

LACCF meetings are held once a year in a Latin American country with the partnership/support of a host competition authority. In 2017, the LACCF held its 15th meeting in Managua, Nicaragua and the next is scheduled for 18-19 September in Buenos Aires, Argentina.


Who participates in the Latin American and Caribbean Competition Forum?

Participants are senior officials of Latin American and Caribbean competition institutions. Competition experts from OECD countries and international organisations also attend to provide additional perspectives and experience on the various topics under discussion.


Participants in previous LACCF meetings include:

Argentina, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, EU, Guatemala, Guyana, Italy, Jamaica, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, United States, Venezuela, Andean Community, CARICOM, ECLAC, UNCTAD, the World Bank and WTO.


10th anniversary brochure

Latin American Competition Forum 10th Anniversary Brochure

This brochure, available in English and Spanish, was published in 2012 to commemorate the 10th Anniversary of the Latin American Competition Forum.







Related Documents