Local Economic and Employment Development (LEED Programme)

The LEED Governing Board


The OECD Action Programme for Local Employment and Economic Development (LEED) is led by the LEED Directing Committee.  Created in 1982 by 13 countries, LEED’s membership has continually expanded  since then to include 36 countries today.  Of these, 32 countries are OECD members:  Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, New Zealand, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States and four are non OECD members:  Latvia, Lithuania, Romania, Slovenia and South Africa.

Two international organisations are also members of LEED: the European Commission (DG Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunity) and the Corporation for Andean Development (CAF).

The principal constituency of the LEED Directing Committee is the Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs (26 countries, plus the European Commission represented by DG Employment, Social Affairs & Equal Opportunity). The Committee enjoys a strong cross-sector dimension, with 21 countries represented by their Ministries of Labour, 9 represented by an economic ministry (e.g. Economy, SMEs, and Economic Development) and 5 represented by both employment and economic departments.

LEED’s mission is thus mirrored by the Committee’s composition, taking an overwhelmingly labour market perspective but with a strong cross-sector dimension, through the active participation of economic ministries.


Related Documents