Members and partners

OECD and enlargement


Global reach has been an integral part of the OECD mission from its beginning. Article 1 of the Convention states that the Organisation should "contribute to sound economic expansion in member as well as non-member countries in the process of economic development."

The OECD is committed to act as a global and flexible network based on high standards, with the goal of developing effective and innovative policy choices for governments around the world. Partner countries' involvement in OECD work is mutually beneficial and essential for keeping the OECD inclusive and relevant, including through possible membership.


How does accession to the OECD work?   

In 2007 the OECD Council at Ministerial level opened membership discussions with five candidate countries, as a result of which Chile, Estonia, Israel and Slovenia became members in 2010, while discussions with the Russian Federation are currently postponed. In May 2013, the Council decided to launch a new wave of accession discussions with Colombia and Latvia; in April 2015, it invited Costa Rica and Lithuania to open formal OECD accession talks. Latvia became an OECD Member on 1 July 2016


As a first step, interested countries typically present a request to become OECD members. Once the OECD Council invites the Secretary-General to open discussions for accession with one or several countries, an “Accession Roadmap” is developed to detail the terms, conditions and process of each accession discussion. This roadmap lists the reviews to be undertaken by Committees in various policy areas in order to assess the country’s position with respect to the relevant OECD instruments and to evaluate its policies and practices as compared to OECD best policies and practices in the relevant area. Each country follows its own process and is assessed independently.



At the end of the technical review, each Committee provides a “formal opinion” to the OECD Council. The timeline for the accession process depends on the pace at which the candidate country provides information to Committees and responds to recommendations for changes to its legislation, policy and practice.

On the basis of the formal opinions and other relevant information, the Council takes a final decision on the basis of unanimity. An Accession Agreement is then signed and the candidate country takes the necessary domestic steps and deposits an instrument of accession to the OECD Convention with the depositary, e.g. the French government. On the date of deposit, the country formally becomes a Member of the OECD.


What is an "Accession Roadmap"?  

The “Accession Roadmap” describes the terms, conditions and process of accession; lists the policy reviews to be undertaken by technical Committees, the criteria on which the candidate country is evaluated and sets out the various procedural steps.

What is the role of the Council in the accession process?

As the governing body of the OECD, bringing together representatives of each of the 35 member countries and of the European Commission, the Council ultimately controls all aspects of the accession process and takes the final decision on whether to extend an invitation to a country to become a member.


What is the role of the Committees?

The Committees, bringing together technical experts from all OECD countries, assess the candidate country’s willingness and ability to implement OECD legal instruments and evaluate its policies and practices as compared to OECD best policies and practices. Committees may recommend changes to bring the candidate country’s legislation, policy and/or practices into line with OECD instruments or to bring its policies closer to OECD best practices.